Karnataka Elections 2023 – 5 Important things to know

Mar 29thKey updates on Karnataka Elections 2023

History of Karnataka Elections

  1. Karnataka is a state in southern India and has a significant political influence in the country. The state last went to the polls in May 2018 to elect members to the Legislative Assembly.
  2. The election was closely contested between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Indian National Congress (INC), and the Janata Dal (Secular) (JDS) party. The BJP emerged as the single largest party, but fell short of a majority.
  3. After the election, the INC and JDS formed a post-poll alliance to form the government, with HD Kumaraswamy of the JDS becoming the Chief Minister.
  4. However, the alliance did not last long, and the BJP eventually formed the government with BS Yediyurappa as the Chief Minister.
  5. The Karnataka elections saw a high voter turnout of over 72%, with issues such as farmer distress, unemployment, and corruption being major concerns for voters.
  6. The Karnataka elections were also notable for the role played by social media in influencing voter behavior.
  7. Both the BJP and INC engaged in an aggressive social media campaign, with fake news and misinformation being widely circulated on platforms like WhatsApp and Facebook.

Key Facts Listed by Election Commission of India on 29th Mar 2023

Karnataka Elections 2023

  • Karnataka has a total of 224 Assembly seats. The state has 6th highest assembly seats in the country.
  • Of 224 Assembly constituencies, 36 are reserved for the SCs and 15 for the STs.
  • As per latest data of electoral roll, the number of electors in the State of Karnataka is:
    • There are 5.23 crore general electors in the state
    • 2.62 crores are male voters and 2.59 crores are female voters. Gender ratio: 988.
    • Voters with age 100 plus are ~16.9 thousand
    • Age 80 plus electors are ~12.15 lakhs
    • The number of persons with disabilities (PWDs) has increased to 5.6 lakhs
    • Third gender voters are 4.7 thousand third gender voters
    • First-time voters of 18 to 19 years are ~9.17 lakhs as of 3 March 2023
    • 58,282 polling stations will be set up in 224 ACs
    • The average number of electors per polling station comes to 883.
    • There would be 240 model polling stations which will be made eco-friendly and green booths.
    • 100 booths would be managed purely by persons with disability
    • 50% of polling stations have a webcasting facility.
    • For better and inclusive voter experience, 1320 polling stations will be managed by women officials.

Election Dates for Karnataka Legislative assembly 2023

  • Elections will be held in 224 constituencies across Karnataka, said Election Commission of India.
  • Date of Poll is 10th May 2023 – Elections will be held in single phase on this day.
  • Counting will happen on 13th May 2023 & results will be out on the same day.
  • The tenure of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly is scheduled to end on May 24. The previous assembly elections were held in May 2018.
  • Addressing a press conference, Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said the notification for the elections will be issued on April 13 and the last date for filing nomination papers will be April 20.
  • The Commissioner said that the nomination papers will be scrutinised on April 21 and the last date for withdrawal of nominations is April 24.
  • Karnataka Elections 2023

Political reactions to the Karnataka Elections 2023 Announcement

What did BJP say?

  • Basavaraj Bommai (Karnataka CM) declared on Tuesday (28th Mar 2023) that his party will come to power in the 2023 Karnataka polls.
    • He said, “The party and the government are absolutely ready for the elections. Preparations are already underway. We are just waiting for the ECI to announce the dates. We are sure to come back to power with huge majority”.
    • Karnataka Elections 2023
  • ‘BJP Will Bloom’, Says Tejasvi Surya
    • BJP MP and National President of BJP Yuva Morcha Tejasvi Surya on Wednesday said that lotus will bloom in Karnataka in the upcoming assembly elections. Taking to Twitter, Surya said, “May 13, 2023. BJP will bloom. Karnataka will win.”
    • Karnataka Elections 2023

What did Congress say?

  • DK Shivakumar (Karnataka Congress chief) conveyed his confidence in uprooting the current government and accused them of poor & corrupt management of the state.
    • He said “Congress is ready for elections, we want this govt to be dismissed. The earlier this govt is dismissed, the better it is for the state & country. This election will be development-oriented & for a corruption-free state & country”
    • Karnataka Elections 2023
  • ‘We Will Win’, Says Kharge
    • Reacting to the announcement of Karnataka elections schedule, Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge said “we will win the Karnataka elections and form government in the state. Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and other senior leaders of the party will visit the state.”
    • Karnataka Elections 2023
  • Rahul Gandhi is planned to address a public meeting at Kolar on 5 April.
    • This is the same place where he made a controversial remark for which he was convicted of criminal defamation and stripped off his membership of the Lower House.
    • Karnataka Elections 2023

Other mentions

  • G Janardhana Reddy (Former Karnataka Minister and mining baron) announced ‘football’ as his party symbol.
  • He has formed “Kalyana Rajya Pragati Paksha” (KRPP), snapping his 2-decade-old association with the BJP.

Key Candidates of Karnataka Elections 2023

  • HD Kumaraswamy (JD-S)
  • HD Kumaraswamy Karnataka Elections
  • BS Yediyurappa (BJP)
  • BS Yediyurappa Karnataka Elections
  • Basavaraj Bommai (BJP)
  • Basavaraj Bommai Karnataka Elections 2023
  • Siddaramaiah (INC)
  • Siddaramaiah Karnataka Elections 2023
  • DK Shivakumar (INC)
  • DK Shivakumar Karnataka Elections 2023
  • C T Ravi (BJP)
  • CT Ravi Karnataka Elections 2023

Leave a Comment